Get on up and make a thing, man.

Added a new link, in case you missed it. It re-routes you to the website of professional wrestler Colt Cabana. I chose him in particular because he’s a hero of mine. Guy is an independent wrestler (which means he doesn’t get paid very well and travels non-stop), does a weekly podcast, sells all manner of merchandise from his website, puts together some brief sketch comedy on the side, and is one of the most relentlessly positive and energetic people imaginable. Living the fucking dream, friends and neighbors. Here’s an article that a Chicago paper put together about him.

Here’s another guy I love at the moment:

Seriously. Community fucking rules, and he’s put out a very tasty rap album, to boot. I wonder: if he’s Danny Glover’s son, does that make him too young for this shit? But anyway. Just giving a shout to young folk who are doing stuff.

What I wanted to talk about today, however, was some musics. Specifically olde-timey musics that I listened to when I was a wee kid. See, my parents had me later in life than the average person, so instead of The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth, I watched Abbot & Costello sketches and clips from The Ed Sullivan Show. Don’t get me wrong, I still absorbed 90s culture into my head; I think I broke the record for saying “wow” while listening to A-1’s After-School Special Mixtape. It all ended up mixing in a 20th-century pop culture cauldron. One minute I would be immersed in a game of NBA Jam, and the next I would be rolling on the floor laughing at John Belushi’s Samurai character from a 1975 episode of SNL.

I experienced music in much the same way. Fa has always been a big fan of jazz and blues, with a bit of outlaw country on the side. Mum grew up swooning over Buddy Holly ballads and those four young men from Liverpool, as well as modern folk with lots of harmony. Many a day I walked home from elementary school humming Jim Croce. I still remember receiving a warning from a teacher because I was wailing “Travelin’ Band” while loading up my backpack. So, here’s some music and memories.

Muddy Waters, still my favorite blues guitarist of all time. You don’t need a lot of notes when you have the right ones. When Fa took me to school, nine times out of eight this is the kind of music he had on the casette deck.

The brilliance of Edward Kennedy Ellington, America’s most brilliant composer. Period. Hours upon hours of bus rides in my band years were made shorter by listening to jazz.

Yes, Waylon. I reckon it has. I don’t know what happened to country music, but what I really want to know is why everybody stood back and watched it happen. Especially when it used to be this damn good. Shameful.

Anyway, that’s a starter. Might add more in future posts as I think of them, but for now I need to clean up and get ready for work. Arkansas travel plans are in the works…

1 Comment

Filed under Remembrances, Thoughts and Observations

One response to “Get on up and make a thing, man.

  1. Hey this is kinda my thing. So I approve. But dont get cocky kid. Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

