Still eating crumbs from last week’s brioche

Man, am I boring right now. Assume that unless I bring it up in this week’s post, all I’ve been doing is lazying around watching 30 Rock and Sports Night (taking it old school). With the odd break here and there to walk the dog. Well, that’s not entirely true. I also beat Super Mario Galaxy 2. Did some laundry. Made a couple of job inquiries. Nothing earth-shaking, mind you. My lady referred to me as a kept man the other day, and there’s more than a bit of truth to that. It makes for a nice change, at least for a week or so. I also like getting the opportunity to prioritize, think about what I really want to do before I go bounding into the unknown, make lists. I’m one of those people. The people who think too much.

I made my first visit to the Power & Light District on Saturday night. Nifty little concept. It”s a square block of interconnected bars & clubs; they all open onto a central open-air area where there is a big LCD screen, a DJ, and you may smoke until your heart’s content. The crowd is predominantly young, wealthy, and a bit trendy for my taste (let’s do some shots, bra!). But I’m a hipster-nerd-snob, so what do I know? You keep Christmas in your way, and let me keep it in mine. Baby Carrots and I had a nice evening, including throwing down some extra-white dance steps to the Jackson 5.

In other news, wrestling decided to get really good for about three weeks. I won’t blather about it in detail, but there was a story involving a wrestler on the way out the door who decided to rail about what was wrong with the WWE before his contract expired. It was well-executed, compelling theatre. Here’s an interview that he did with GQ. I know, right? Somehow, they even managed to work in a bit about discontinued ice cream bars, and the crowd started chanting “We want ice cream!” without provocation. I had so much fun watching it that I felt like a kid again. And dammit all, I do want ice cream.

The dessert in question.

For those of you who might not know, Baby Carrots is going to school for baking/pastry. So, every Monday and Tuesday, she brings home the mother lode of bread and sweets. Last week, it was about fifteen of the best dinner rolls I have ever eaten. This week, it’s a mix of rolls, brioche, and another French pastry I can’t remember the name of. I ‘d ask the baker, but she be nappin’. As a bonus, she also brought a vanilla bean custard that they made from scratch. So yeah, the whole “kept man” thing? Not such a raw deal.

I guess I will get back to making plans for world domination. I feel like the ennui is wearing off, and I got some ideas brewing in my brain grapes. How’s that for a mixed metaphor? Until next time, meditate on just how many miles Aaron Sorkin characters have power-walked while conversing. It’s a lot.

Leave a comment

Filed under How Things Are Today

Leave a Reply

